Thursday, March 2, 2017

Fire engines from across East Devon were among more than 20 fighting a blaze at a recycling centre in Exeter last night.

Read more
Friday, February 3, 2017

Devon County Council has welcomed the Local Government Association’s (LGA) calls for powers to be given to tackle lorry drivers that flout height and weight restrictions.

Read more
Friday, January 27, 2017

Exmouth Recycling Centre was closed today after an item resembling a rocket launcher was found.

Read more
Tuesday, January 17, 2017

A Devon-based restaurant will become the first in 2017 to be given a top industry award.

Read more
Friday, January 13, 2017

Police have confirmed the identity of the two bodies found at a house in Dunkeswell as Michael and Nicola Beck.

Read more
Thursday, January 12, 2017

Devon’s fleet of gritters are out on the county’s precautionary salting network today (Thursday, January 12).

Read more
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

A severe weather warning for ice and snow has been issued for the South West by the MET Office.

Read more
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Public Health England (PHE) South West is reminding unvaccinated first year students to get immunised now against deadly meningococcal disease.

Read more
Friday, January 6, 2017

Police are treating the discovery of two bodies at a secluded house near Honiton as a domestic murder and suicide.

Read more
Friday, December 30, 2016

These pictures taken by an Exmouth man show what appears to be a UFO flying over the town this week.

Read more
Thursday, December 29, 2016

Emergency services were called out this morning to reports of a road traffic collision in East Budleigh.

Read more
Thursday, December 29, 2016

Emergency services were called out this morning to reports of a road traffic collision in East Budleigh.

Read more
Thursday, December 22, 2016

Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue have given advice on preventing fires in the kitchen this Christmas.

Read more
Monday, December 19, 2016

Three park and ride services will be merged from Tuesday, January 3, it has been announced.

Read more
Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Stagecoach South West has announced that, from Saturday (December 3), a new timetable will come into effect on the South West Falcon, connecting Devon and Somerset with Bristol Airport and Bristol City Centre.

Read more
Thursday, November 10, 2016

The NHS is urging pregnant women across East Devon to protect themselves and their unborn child by having the flu vaccination this winter.

Read more
Monday, October 31, 2016

Residents and traders in Exeter have been thanked by Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue for their support during the major fire in the city centre.

Read more
Monday, October 24, 2016

Devon is to host a temporary Home Office respite facility for vulnerable young refugees arriving from Calais.

Read more
Monday, October 17, 2016

Finalists in the South West Chef of the Year are gearing up for the grand final next Monday (October 24).

Read more
Thursday, September 22, 2016

East Devon MP Hugo Swire has pledged his support for a proposal which would see Exmouth and Sidmouth retain their inpatient beds.

Read more
Sunday, September 18, 2016

Tributes have been paid to a ‘phenomenal lady’ who founded a therapy service for those on low income.

Read more
Thursday, September 1, 2016

Pets across East Devon now have a greater chance of surviving household fires, thanks to new oxygen masks specially designed for animals that are being carried on selected fire engines.

Read more
Thursday, September 1, 2016

The cost of parking in Topsham and Exeter is set to change after proposals for new car parking tariffs were introduced.

Read more
Friday, August 19, 2016

The B3052 road between Clyst st Mary and Sidmouth has re-opened following a multi-car incident earlier today.

Read more
Friday, August 19, 2016

A woman with ‘suspected’ spinal injuries was freed from her vehicle following a major road incident this morning.

Read more
Friday, August 19, 2016

A busy East Devon road which runs through Clyst St Mary has been closed by police after a multi car incident.

Read more
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Dark forces seem to have been at work after a road sign advertising a magical exhibition disappeared.

Read more
Wednesday, July 27, 2016

A coach company is appealing to reunite a wedding album with its rightful owner – ahead of what would be the couple’s 51st anniversary.

Read more
Monday, July 18, 2016

East Devon men who spend long periods of time outdoors are being urged to protect themselves against the sun this summer.

Read more
Thursday, July 14, 2016

Lidl’s new distribution centre near Clyst Honiton has been hailed as a ‘boost’ for growth and confidence by the leader of the district council.

Read more

Local Weather

Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 9°C

min temp: 6°C

Most Read News

Useful Links

Family notices
Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Submit a Story
Buy Photos
Competitions
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Sidmouth Herald e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Local business directory

Devon's trusted business finder

HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists


Find planning applications