Tue, 18:00

We’ll start this week with a bit of news on the wildlife front. I am told by a local resident, who lives in the Bickwell Valley area of Sidmouth, that the roe deer population has risen rapidly in their area recently.

Read more
Sidmouth
Mon, 12:00

The Sidmouth branch of Winstone’s Books has joined forces with a major new books website which hopes to challenge the market dominance of online giants such as Amazon.

Read more
Sunday, November 22, 2020

A new charity has been established which is dedicated to improving the quality of services in Sidmouth. It is hoped that The Sidmouth Trust will provide an example to other towns and cities, who might be inspired to set up similar organisations.

Read more
Sidmouth
Friday, November 13, 2020

Businesses vow to be there for you during lockdown

Read more
Monday, October 26, 2020

A 20-year dream to improve healthcare provision in Sidmouth could finally become reality.

Read more
Wednesday, September 9, 2020

No new deaths relating to coronavirus in Devon and Cornwall have been recorded in the latest ONS figures.

Read more
Tuesday, August 11, 2020

No deaths related to coronavirus were recorded across Devon and Cornwall in the latest week of Office for National Statistics (ONS) information.

Read more
Thursday, April 16, 2020

A former teacher was found with almost 40,000 child abuse images on six computers which police found hidden under his bed.

Read more
Monday, March 9, 2020

East Devon writer, Ann Knight, launched her fourth and perhaps final book on Tipton St John at a special coffee morning at the weekend.

Read more
Saturday, March 7, 2020

An event to help older people reconnect with the wider community is being arranged at the new Tumbling Weir Court development in Ottery St Mary on Friday, March 20.

Read more
Sunday, February 23, 2020

Professional electronic organist Andrew Nix, from North Yorkshire, entertained the audience at the East Devon Organ Club on Tuesday, February 11, with a delightful combination of popular music and Yorkshire humour.

Read more
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

The temporary glass ‘sea wall’ on Sidmouth seafront has survived its second test.

Read more
Thursday, February 13, 2020

A mighty sum of money was raised by the charitable folk who work and visit Otter Garden Centre in Ottery St Mary, with the support of an army of volunteers.

Read more
Ottery St Mary
Saturday, January 4, 2020

Ottery St Mary dancer Sharol Mackenzie is set to appear in a live performance of Matthew Bourne’s Romeo and Juliet.

Read more
Honiton
Friday, December 27, 2019

Bird’s eye view images have been released showing what the crane operator can see from his vantage point over Sidford.

Read more
Wednesday, November 20, 2019

A woman from Sidmouth has been ordered to pay compensation to a female police officer whom she kicked in the groin during a drunken fracas.

Read more
Wednesday, November 6, 2019

A man has died after his car went over a cliff in Sidmouth.

Read more
Thursday, October 24, 2019

Decisions on where thousands of new homes could be built, whether in the shape of a new town or series of new villages, have been delayed until next year.

Read more
Friday, September 13, 2019

Devon county councillors have hit out at the Government for short-changing the county which is now facing a £28million budget shortfall.

Read more
Thursday, September 12, 2019

A county lines drug dealer who got a friend to try to fool a jury into letting him off has had his sentence extended.

Read more
Thursday, August 22, 2019

A Seaton man has been ordered to sell his home after he made a pensioner’s life a misery with loud music.

Read more
Tuesday, August 20, 2019

A woman who lashed out at police when she was drunk in Sidmouth has been warned she will go to jail unless she overcomes an alcohol problem.

Read more
Thursday, August 8, 2019

Charity volunteers from Sidmouth have been recognised for their efforts to help people get out and about in the community.

Read more
Thursday, August 1, 2019

A persistent noise nuisance has admitted breaking a ban on upsetting his elderly neighbours.

Read more
Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Nearly £90,000 earmarked for projects such as play areas and allotments is owed to Ottery Town Council (OTC) – with another £115,000 on the way.

Read more
Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Increased parking charges in Ottery St Mary are having a detrimental impact on independent businesses, it has been claimed.

Read more
Sunday, July 28, 2019

The cost of homes in Devon has risen by 3.2 per cent over the past 12 months, with the average homeowner in the county seeing their property value jump by around £44,000 in the last five years.

Read more
Friday, July 5, 2019

Devon’s schools could soon be forced to shut on Friday afternoons due to budget pressures, a leading councillor has predicted.

Read more
Friday, June 28, 2019

A motorist has admitted causing serious injury to a 10-year-old boy in a hit-and-run accident near Sidmouth.

Read more
Saturday, June 8, 2019

Proposals for a new road to bypass Totnes as part of a bid to improve the air quality in the town are off the table.

Read more
Devon

Useful Links

Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Sidmouth Herald e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications