All change at EDDC with new chair and deputy

Graham Godbeer

Graham Godbeer - Credit: Archant

The new chairman of East Devon District Council (EDDC) is Graham Godbeer after his election at last night’s annual meeting.


- Credit: Archant

He takes over from Councillor Peter Halse, and his deputy for the next civic year is Sidmouth representative Christine Drew, replacing another, Frances Newth.

The chairmanship, a scheduled two-yearly handover, was a number of leadership changes made by EDDC which its spokesman said: “Have been made with the aim of providing strong leadership and ensuring those in key positions have the capacity to give their district roles the attention they demand.”

The council’s leader and deputy leader remain unchanged as Councillor’s Paul Diviani and Andrew Moulding continue in their roles.

But at Wednesday night’s meeting there were some changes agreed to the cabinet, committee chairmanships and Member Champion roles.

Phil Twiss takes on the Corporate Services portfolio as Ian Thomas moves over to Economy, the position vacated by Cllr Godbeer.

Also among the changes is Mark Williamson stepping down from chairing the Development Management Committee, to be taken over by Helen Parr.

Most Read

Meanwhile Councillor Tim Wood relinquishes his Member Champion for Exmouth Town appointment in order to take up Chairing the Overview and Scrutiny Committee from Sidmouth representative Stuart Hughes.

Here is the full list of the new-look EDDC leadership team:

Chairman: Cllr Graham Godbeer

Vice Chairman: Cllr Christine Drew

Leader: Cllr Paul Diviani

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Strategic Development and Partnerships: Cllr Andrew Moulding

Cabinet Member for Corporate Business: Cllr Ray Bloxham

Cabinet Member for Corporate Services: Cllr Phil Twiss

Cabinet Member for Economy: Cllr Ian Thomas

Cabinet Member for Environment: Cllr Iain Chubb

Deputy Cabinet Member for Environment: Cllr Tom Wright

Cabinet Member for Finance: Cllr David Cox

Cabinet Member for Sustainable Homes and Communities: Cllr Jill Elson

Deputy Cabinet Member for Sustainable Homes and Communities: Cllr Steph Jones

Audit and Governance: Cllr Ken Potter (Chair) and Cllr Peter Bowden (Vice Chair)

Development Management and Planning Inspections Committees: Cllr Helen Parr (Chair) and Cllr David Key (Vice Chair)

Employment Appeals: Cllr Andrew Moulding and Cllr David Cox

Housing Review Board: Cllr Pauline Stott (Chair)

Licensing and Enforcement: Cllr Steve Hall (Chair) and Cllr Jim Knight (Vice Chair)

Overview and Scrutiny Committee: Cllr Tim Wood (Chair) and Cllr Graham Troman (Vice Chair)

Standards: Cllr Graham Godbeer (Chair)