BREAKING: Conservatives elected in Sidmouth Town

PUBLISHED: 13:43 06 May 2011 | UPDATED: 13:58 06 May 2011

A trio of Conservatives stormed to success in today’s East Devon District Council (EDDC) elections

Sheila Kerridge (1,224 votes), Frances Newth (1,193 votes) and Peter Sullivan (1,058 votes) all celebrated landing seats.

Independent candidate John Dyson narrowly missed out with 999 votes.

UKIP’s Lawrie Brownlee (615 votes) and Labour’s Ian Walker (466 votes) were also left disappointed.

There was a 55.9 per cent turnout in the ward.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Sidmouth Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald