BREAKING: Conservatives elected in Sidmouth Town

A trio of Conservatives stormed to success in today’s East Devon District Council (EDDC) elections

Sheila Kerridge (1,224 votes), Frances Newth (1,193 votes) and Peter Sullivan (1,058 votes) all celebrated landing seats.

Independent candidate John Dyson narrowly missed out with 999 votes.

UKIP’s Lawrie Brownlee (615 votes) and Labour’s Ian Walker (466 votes) were also left disappointed.

There was a 55.9 per cent turnout in the ward.