County council candidates revealed for Sidmouth and Ottery

PUBLISHED: 13:20 05 April 2017 | UPDATED: 13:20 05 April 2017

The Sidmouth and Otter Valley divisions at Devon County Council

The Sidmouth and Otter Valley divisions at Devon County Council


Six people are standing to represent Sidmouth at the Devon County Council elections next month, it was revealed today (Wednesday).

The incumbent, Conservative Stuart Hughes, is defending his seat against Green Party member Jeannie Alderdice, Labour’s Ray Davison, Liberal Democrat Lewis Ragbourn, Independent East Devon Alliance chairman Marianne Rixson and UKIP’s Richard Wright.

In the Otter Valley, the current independent representative, Councillor Claire Wright, is up against Labour Party member George Downs and Tory candidate Tim Venner.

Yesterday was the last day for nominations.

Towns across the county will go to the polls on Thursday, May 4, between 7am and 10pm.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Sidmouth Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald