Olympian hand out Sidmouth Sustainability Shield

PUBLISHED: 09:38 01 November 2013 | UPDATED: 09:38 01 November 2013

shs Overall Sustainability shield winners

shs Overall Sustainability shield winners


AN Olympic sailor handed out a prestigious environmental award to Sidmouth College pupils who excelled when it came to the topic of water.

Yachtsman Ben Rhodes helped mark the culmination of Sidmouth Science Festival by presenting the Sid Vale Energy Action Group (SVEAG) Sustainability Shield.

Overall winners from year seven were Jacob Spencer, Josh Gill and Richard Papworth thanks to their project entitled-Wave Power.

Other prizes were awarded to the winning year groups.

In year seven, Abigail Tinnian, Chloe Hadley and Eva Swann were recognised.

Chloe Drake, Mary Jane Babington and Caley Brown were singled out among year eight students. In year nine, Ben Ardley, Amy Cozens and Emily Cross received an award.

A separate prize was handed to a Sidmouth Pimary School group of Rebecca Tallows and Ellie-Jayne Waddell.

The overall standard of groups was ‘excellent’, said SVEAG chairman Derek Chant. “This is a credit to their enthusiasm and support of teachers and staff,” he added.

“This is a worthwhile award which focuses the attention of all pupils on issues that will face them in the future.”

The topic for next year will be ‘biodiversity’ and organisers are looking forward to judging imaginative projects once again.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists