Sidmouth College students awards joy

MORE than 50 students at Sidmouth College celebrated exams success at an awards evening in front of a packed audience of pupils, staff, parents, governors and guests.

The accolades, presented to former Year 11 students who took their GCSEs last summer, included subject and community gongs presented by the Sid Vale Association, Waitrose, Sidmouth Garden Centre and the Sidmouth Lions Club.

Principal Jeremy Roberts spoke of his delight in young people’s achievements and said: “We’re immensely proud of all the students. Each of them displayed real talent and personal commitment.”

The Sid Vale Association prizes for geography and history were presented to Aimee Vaughan, Emily Peka and Jack Sowden, and Kelsey Fitzgerald, Sam Cox and Jake Daniel respectively.

The Waitrose Prize for Excellence in food technology was awarded to Jess Hoar.

The Sidmouth Garden Centre Award for Rural Dimension was won by Sam Pearman.

The Sidmouth Lions Shield for Achievement and Endeavour was won by Theo Boalch and Alex Morgan.

Most Read

The Bradford Cup for the best overall contribution to the year group was awarded to Katherine Perchard-Richards, and the Pinney Cup for the best overall GCSE results was awarded to Flik Cooper.

Subject awards were presented to: Rosanna Smith (art), Tom Robinson (business), Narissa Nicholson (catering), Molly Adkin and Amy Trevett (drama), Molly Adkin and Amy Chalk (English), Tom Sinclair and Vicky Gay (food technology), Jess Hoar and Hannah Lane (French), Amelia Bess (geography), Tabitha Vaughan and Tom Sinclair (German), Flik Cooper and Jon Bastyan (graphics), Daisy Robinson (history), April Osman (health and social care), Ryan Cabot and Jon Bastyan (IT), Kalina Farr and Amy Chalk (IT short course), Ryan Cabot (manufacturing), Jo Waterfield and Amy Chalk (mathematics), Jake Daniel (music), Jack Sowden and Tabitha Vaughan (PE), Alex Morgan, Flick Cooper and Lorna Ough (photography), Jess Ahling Slade (preparation for work), Daisy Robinson (RE – full), Elliot Rice (RE – short course), Jack Sowden (resistant materials), Aimee Vaughan, Ryan Cabot and Charlee Kennerson (science) and CC Coleman (textiles).