Have say on council's boundary proposals

PUBLISHED: 06:30 15 May 2015

Boundary changes are proposed for Devon County Council

Boundary changes are proposed for Devon County Council


Residents across Devon are being asked for their views on the future shape of local government as part of an eight-week consultation.

It will be open to anyone who wants to have their say on the new county council electoral divisions, their extent and their names.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England recommends that the authority should have 60 councillors, two fewer than currently.

Max Caller CBE, its chairman, said: “Our review aims to deliver electoral equality for local voters. This means that each county councillor represents a similar number of electors so that everyone’s vote in county council elections is worth roughly the same.

“We also want to ensure that our proposals reflect the interests and identities of local communities across Devon and that the pattern of divisions can help the council deliver effective local government to local people.”

Under the proposals, Sidbury and the western side of East Hill would become part of a new Sidmouth ward, which would replace the existing Sidmouth Sidford ward and match the parish boundary.

The Ottery St Mary Rural ward, which currently encompasses Sidbury, West Hill, Ottery St Mary, Feniton and Buckerell, would be replaced with an Otter Valley ward. This would cover Ottery and Fenny Bridges, over to Aylesbeare, Newton Poppleford, Otterton and East Budleigh.

Detailed interactive maps are available at www.consultation.lgbce.org.uk. The consultation closes on July 6.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald