Two Sidmouth town councillors step down

PUBLISHED: 17:00 15 June 2020

Sidmouth Town Council office. Picture by Alex Walton. Ref shs 1290-21-11AW

Sidmouth Town Council office. Picture by Alex Walton. Ref shs 1290-21-11AW


Voters have a chance to request elections in the East and South Wards of Sidmouth Town Council, following the resignation of Louise Thompson and John Rayson this week for personal reasons.

John Rayson had been a town councillor since 2015 and Louise Thompson since 2019.

The chairman of Sidmouth Town Council, Councillor Ian Barlow, said: “Both John and Louise brought their own unique skills to the council, which benefited many of the projects we are still working on.

“They put a considerable number of hours into their work as councillors on behalf of the community. Their presence in the chamber will be missed.”

For an election to take place, 10 or more voters in the relevant ward must request one.

The requests must be signed and sent to the Returning Officer at East Devon District Council or sent electronically, with a scan of the elector’s signature, to by midnight on Thursday, July 2.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Sidmouth Herald. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald