Sidmouth councillor takes up new county role

DEVON County Councillors were appointed to their new roles on Friday at the first Full Council meeting under the new Conservative administration.

DEVON County Councillors were appointed to their new roles on Friday at the first Full Council meeting under the new Conservative administration.

Cllr John Berry, local Member for Cullompton Rural, is appointed as Chairman of the Council. Cllr Trevor Pennington, South Brent and Dartington, is Vice-Chairman of the Council.

Cllr John Hart, Leader of Devon's Conservative group and local Member for Bickleigh and Wembury, has been appointed as Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Council's Executive Committee.

Cllr John Clatworthy, Dawlish, is Deputy Leader of the Council and Vice-Chairman of the Executive Committee, and now holds responsibility for the Council's Finance and Property.

You may also want to watch:

Cllr Stuart Barker, Ashburton and Buckfastleigh, is appointed as Cabinet Member for Adult and Community Services.

Cllr Christine Channon, local Member for Budleigh, takes responsibility for Schools and Skills.

Most Read

Cllr Roger Croad, Ivybridge, is appointed to Environmental and Regulatory Services.

Cllr Andrea Davis, Combe Martin Rural, takes responsibility for Children's Health and Wellbeing.

Cllr Stuart Hughes, Sidmouth Sidford, is appointed to Highways and Transportation.

Cllr Andrew Leadbetter, Exeter St Loyes and Topsham, is appointed to Workforce, Performance and Communications.

And Cllr William Mumford, local Member for Yealmpton, has become responsible for the Council's Economic Regeneration and Strategic Planning.

Liberal Democrat Councillors have been appointed as Shadow Members to the Executive Committee.

Cllr Brian Greenslade, Shadow Leader of the Council, Leader of the Liberal Democratic group and local Member for Barnstaple North, is appointed as Chairman of the Council's Policy Overview Committee.

Cllr Vanessa Newcombe, Exeter Alphington and Cowick, is Chairman of Children and Young People's Services Scrutiny Committee.

Cllr Gordon Hook, Newton Abbot South, is Chairman of the Environment, Economy and Culture Scrutiny Committee.

And Exeter Newtown and Polsloe County Councillor, Richard Westlake, is Chairman of the Council's Health and Adult Services Scrutiny Committee.

Cllr Saxon Spence remains Leader of the Council's Labour group, and Councillor Rodney Cann is Leader of the Independent group.

Previous County Councillors Mary Turner, John Rawlinson, Margaret Rogers, and Douglas Hull, have been appointed as Honorary Alderman in recognition of their services to the Council during their membership.

Full details of all the Council's appointments can be seen at

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter