Sidmouth gains three new aldermen

EDDC bestows Honorary Alderman titles on eight former councillors, with three from Sidmouth

THREE former Sidmouth district councillors are among eight to receive the title of Honorary Alderman from East Devon District Council.

Tony Reed and husband and wife Ann and Graham Liverton, were bestowed the title, together with Bob Peachey, Mike Green, Vivienne Ash, Ray Franklin and Sara Randall Johnson.

They were proposed en block at last week’s meeting by its chairman, Councillor Peter Halse, and seconded by vice-chairman, Councillor Frances Newth.

Individual reference was made to the service they have rendered to the council, and each was presented with an Honorary Alderman scroll and medallion by Mrs Newth.

Both the Livertons have served as chairman on EDDC and Mr Reed was its chairman of planning for some years.

It is his third accolade this year after being made Freeman of the town and on Saturday being given Freedom of Sidmouth FolkWeek.