Town council vacancies to be filled at the ballot box


- Credit: Getty Images/Hemera

Voters in two wards will have a chance to pick who should represent them on Sidmouth Town Council on May 6. 

As well as voting in the Devon County Council and Police and Crime Commissioner elections, voters will be asked to elect three new town councillors. 

There are currently vacancies for two councillors in the Sidmouth South Ward and a single councillor in the Salcombe Regis ward. 

The candidates are as follows:  

Sidmouth Salcombe Regis  

Sheila Kerridge 

Richard Furlow (Independent) 

Most Read

Sidmouth (South) 

Nick Diprose 

Hilary Nelson (Independent) 

Rachel Perram (Independent) 

Bob Weeks 

There was a vacancy in the Sidmouth (East) ward, however this is uncontested as Steven Kendall-Torry was the only candidate and will be duly elected to the town council. 

In Newton Poppleford, there were no candidates to come forward to fill the vacancy on the parish council.  

Voters in the village will choose whether or not a neighbourhood plan should be used by the district council to decide planning applications in Newton Poppleford. 

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter