Simouth Flower Club show a blooming success

A total of 70 ‘amazing’ arrangements in eight different classes were judged

SCORES of people enjoyed Sidmouth Flower Arrangement Club’s annual competitive show entitled Here Comes the Summer on July 13 and 14.

The event took place in All Saints Church Hall and was hailed ‘a riot of colour’ by organisers, writes Naomi Clarke.

A total of 70 ‘amazing’ arrangements in eight different classes were judged by Maragaret Fairhurst of the National Association of Flower Arrangement Societies.

Mrs Fairhurst’s comments lauded displays as being of a high standard and the popular event lived up to expectations.

The show also raised a total of �400 for Arthritis UK as all proceeds from the tombola went to the charity.

Visitors enjoyed the colourful displays and said that it was ‘a lovely idea’.

Most Read

Ciclely Cook, chairman of the Sidmouth Flower Club said: “It was extremely successful, lots of people turned up and it went very well.”

She added: “You don’t have to be a flower arranger to enjoy flower arranging or the club meetings.”

Sidmouth Flower Club meets at St Francis’ Church Hall on the fourth Tuesday of the month in the afternoon.

A range of trophies were awarded to participants. Winners are as follows:

Best Exhibit in the Show- The Olive Spivey Trophy went to Diane Emms, in class three.

Runner up Best Exhibit- The Karol Worden Rose Bowl went to Doreen McKay of class five.

Winner of the Novice Class- The Fiona Macdonald Trophy was awarded to Judy Rawlins from class one.

For the Best Use of Colour- The Daphne Wilson Memorial Trophy went to Diane Emms in class eight.

The Judge’s Choice- The 21st Anniversary Trophy went to Rena Berriman from class six.

The President’s Choice- The 25th Anniversary Trophy went to Doreen McKay from class two.

Winner of the Petite Class- The President’s Cup was awarded to Diane Emms from class eight.

Winner of the Minature Class- The Millennium Trophy went to Margaret Newman of class nine.

Winner of the Imposed Class- The Sidmouth Florist Trophy went to Deborah Chapman of class seven.

The winner of class two and winner of class five -Exhibition Trophies both went to Dooreen McKay .

The winner of class three- Exhibition Trophy was Diane Emms.

The winner of class six- Exhibition Trophy was Rena Berriman.