Town and parish council election candidates published


- Credit: Getty Images/iStockphoto

A list of candidates for May’s local elections have been published, with three wards on Sidmouth Town Council and one on Ottery Town Council being contested.

The election will take place on May 7.

The candidates, who were announced by East Devon District Council, are as follows:

Sidmouth (North)

Matthew Booth

Michael Earthey – Independent

Stuart Hughes – Independent

Most Read

Dawn Manley

Peter Sullivan

Sidmouth (Primley)

Tony Cox

Simon Pollentine - Independent

Jeff Turner

Sidmouth (West)

Louise Cole

Ann Liverton

Graham Liverton

John Rayson

Ottery St Mary (Tipton St John)

Lyn Harding

Bill Heath

Geoffrey Pratt – Independent

In several wards for both Sidmouth Town Council and Ottery Town Council, the number of nominations did not exceed the number of seats available.

The seats were therefore uncontested, and those nominated will be automatically elected as councillors on May 7.

The uncontested seats are as follows:

Sidmouth (East)


Frances Newth

Sidmouth (Salcombe Regis)

Ian Barlow

David Barratt

Sidmouth (Sidbury)

David Addis

John Hollick

Sidmouth (Sidford Village)

Jack Brokenshire

Ian McKenzie-Edwards

Sidmouth (South)

Kelvin Dent - Independent

John Dyson

Paul Wright

Ottery St Mary (North)

Paul Bartlett – Independent

Josefina Gori – Independent

Ottery St Mary (Town)

Paul Carter

Glyn Dobson

Anne Edwards

Peter Faithfull – Independent

Roger Giles – Independent

Ian Holmes – Independent

Elli Pang

Ottery St Mary (West Hill)

Jessica Bailey

Robin Mitchell

Jo Talbot