‘We’ll work together’ vow Sidmouth election winners

Conservatives celebrate clean sweep in town

CONSERVATIVES celebrated a clean sweep in Sidmouth after Tories claimed all seven of the area’s seats on East Devon District Council (EDDC).

In the Sidmouth Town Ward, Sheila Kerridge, Frances Newth and Peter Sullivan enjoyed success in last week’s elections

Mrs Kerridge bagged 1,224 votes and said: “I’m absolutely ecstatic. I can’t thank the people of Sidmouth town enough. I hope I can do them justice and fulfil every wish they have. I hope they can come to me and that I can make a difference.” Mrs Newth said it was an “enormous privilege” to be re-elected after landing 1,193 votes. “I will continue to work hard and make the best decisions for the community,” she added.

Mr Sullivan was elected with 1,058 votes and said: “All three of us will be working as a team to look after the residents of Sidmouth. It was a well fought campaign by everybody from all parties.”

Independent candidate John Dyson narrowly missed out with 999 votes.

UKIP’s Lawrie Brownlee (615 votes) and Labour’s Ian Walker (466 votes) were also defeated.

Most Read

There was a 55.9per cent turnout in the Sidmouth Town Ward.

Conservative Chris Wale celebrated success in the Sidmouth Rural Ward.

In the Sidmouth Sidford Ward, councillors Stuart Hughes, Christine Drew and Graham Troman were last month returned to their seats unopposed.