Who deserves to be named Citizen of the Year 2016?

Sidmouth Citizen of the Year Dave O'Connor Town Council Chairman Jeff Turner, Sidmouth Rotary presid

Sidmouth Citizen of the Year Dave O'Connor Town Council Chairman Jeff Turner, Sidmouth Rotary president Ron Galling, Rotarian Graeme Bullock and Stefan Gordon from the Sidmouth Herald. Ref shs 17-16SH 2506. Picture: Simon Horn. - Credit: Archant

It is the season of goodwill and so the perfect time to thank someone who has made a real difference to life in the area – by nominating them for the 2016 Citizen of the Year award.

The Rotary Club of Sidmouth is once again joining forces with the Sidmouth Herald to honour those who have made a real difference to life in and around the town.

Nominees can include charity workers or people who act on their own initiative to benefit the local community.

Royal British Legion Sidmouth branch chairman and army veteran Dave O’Connor took the 2015 title for serving his country and his town so well.

Previous winners include: Christmas Day lunch organisers Angie and Mick Carney; Barry Morton, a postman with a plethora of community-based pastimes; big-hearted busker Wally Cotgrave; and Sidmouth in Bloom stalwart Joy Seward.

You may also want to watch:

Nominations should be made on the attached printed form and sent to Citizen of the Year 2016, Sidmouth Herald, Fair Oak Close, Exeter Airport Business Park, Clyst Honiton, Exeter, EX5 2UL.

Alternatively, place the completed nomination form in a sealed envelope and pop it into the Herald office at Kennaway House, Coburg Road, Sidmouth.

Most Read

Photocopies will not be accepted.

The closing date is Saturday, January 28. The winner will be announced later in the year.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus