February 20 2019 Latest news:

Sidmouth Running Club celebrate a very special past year

Debbie Marriott with Sidmouth Running Club vice chairman Becky Robson. Picture KYLE BAKER
Debbie Marriott with Sidmouth Running Club vice chairman Becky Robson. Picture KYLE BAKER

Sunday, April 1, 2018
12:24 PM

To send a link to this page to a friend, you must be logged in.

Back to story

Sidmouth Running Club awards 2018

Sidmouth Running Club celebrate a very special past year

Sidmouth Running Club held their Annual General Meeting and their trophy presentation evening following the regular midweek club running evening, writes Monica Read.

The evening was well attended by a large turnout of members, who were able to reflect on a successful past year for the Club.

Club chairman, Terry Bewes, reported to members on the growing membership, the success of the beginners and improvers courses, and the events and activities organised by the club during 2017.

With over 200 members and a selection of regular runs of different distances being led on and off road every week by run leaders, Terry paid tribute to the committee, helpers and run leaders who made it all possible.

The club invests in the training of its run leaders and Terry told his audience that with a growing membership, more were needed and invited members to consider taking the opportunity to be trained and to lead.

The chairman also recorded a vote of thanks to vice chair Becky Robson, who in 2017, resurrected the Time Trials with a record 74 members recording times on the first outing at the start of the season.

Each month the time trial, over the same course, allowed members to track improvements in speed.

Club members bid Becky a fond farewell as she has retired from the club after 15 years of successful running and non-stop encouragement for others.

Looking forward, Terry pledged that the club would concentrate on its core strength, running.

He said: “The beginner’s group this year showed great commitment so we will endeavour to train and encourage them to achieve even greater heights than the non-stop three miles they can all run now.

“Tim Mitchell’s work in the role off head coach has been inspiring and his technical and improvers courses have been very well received by those taking part.”

Terry went on to say that SRC would be hosting the Woodland Relays in June, saying: “These runs are for teams of three and the short course of three to four kilometres will be ideal for our beginners and will be an excellent opportunity to put the training into practice and have a fun evening.”

One of the features of 2017 has been the growing strength of the group of younger female runners and Terry was pleased to tell members that Kerry Boyle will be working throughout the year towards becoming the junior leader, and Claire Ashby has agreed to help her taking various courses up to assistant coach level.

With exciting times ahead club members enjoyed the presentation of an array of trophies and awards to runners and those who had made special contributions and achievements.

Trophy winners: Female runner of the year - Sarah Watkins; Male runner of the year - Danny Painter; Runners Runner - Tim Mitchell; Wooden Spoon - John Chesters; Time Trials short course - Joint winners were Caroline Ball and Jenni Yeoman; Time Trials long course - Paul Wright; Reindeer Run, most improved – Debbie Marriott.

Mighty Green award winners: Mighty Green Racing Challenge – winner, Steve Saunders, Houston Space City 10 miler, 4,696 miles and runner-up, Jo Earlam, New York Marathon, 3,309 miles; Mighty Green Holiday Challenge - winner, Sarah Watkins. - Machu Picchu, Peru, 6,045 miles; runner-up, David Hedges - Athabasca Glacier, Jasper, Canada 4,227 miles; Mighty Green Ultra Queen - Carine Silver, 100k Wellington Boot - 17 hours 59 minutes; Jennifer Bentley - Jurassic 100k, Weymouth to Exmouth – 24 hours 6 minutes; Debbie Marriot Jurassic - 100k, Weymouth to Exmouth – 24 hours 6 minutes; Mighty Green Strike the Pose, Vogue – Paula Farrand; Mighty Green ‘DONK’ Award - Nigel Maer; Mighty Green Recovery Award - Lynda Hawkins; New Club Marathon Record - Justin Ashby, 2:41:40.

Most Read

Join our newsletter