The inaugural Two Valleys Cup match between Sidmouth and Honiton golf clubs was played on Sunday.

This new competition consisted of six Foursomes in the morning at Sidmouth then 12 single matches at Honiton in the afternoon, followed by an excellent dinner afterwards.

Sidmouth had the best of the morning winning 3.5 to 2.5, but in the afternoon home advantage told as Honiton took the singles and the match with a final score of 11.5 to 6.5.

Sidmouth hosted Crediton in a B Team match and avoiding most of the showers, Sidmouth came out on top by 6 to 0.

Winners of the Upper Crust Monday stableford last week were: Division 1, 1st John Spiller-Jones 39, 2nd, Anthony Griffiths 39 and 3rd, Mike Williams  also with 39. Division 2 winners were Keith James 43, Bill Hayes 42 and John Robertson 41. Seniors stableford winner was John Randall with an excellent 44.

The Captains of Sidmouth Golf Club last year raised £8,717 for the Admiral Nurse Campaign in Sid Valley area. Lynette Lloyd, one of their Trustees, made this possible by seeking the support of the Golf Captains and, over the last year, a number of events helped raise this great sum towards the cost of the Admiral Nurse.

An Admiral Nurse costs in the order of £50K annually and provides valuable advice and support to those suffering with the onset of Dementia here in Sid Valley.

Sidmouth Herald: Alan Billinghurst, last year's Club Captain flanked by David Hodge, Admiral Nurse fund Chairman and

Rain has reduced numbers on the Sidmouth course the last two Mondays but there was still a monster 48 points from Keith James, winning Division 2. Colin Craven and Glyn Hewitt had to settle for the minor places. Division 1 had Tim Chapman on 43, winning from Terry Jones 42 and Mark Thomas on 40. Last week, Club Captain John Jones won Division 1.

Club President Bob Webber held his Presidents Day better ball competition and the winning pair in the men's division was Dave Hoare and Roger Trivett with 45 points, beating Nick Gingell and Marc Jenkins on countback. Mike Shepherd and Steve Crabb similarly took third from Andy Thompson and Tom Butler with 44.

The ladies top prize went to Mo Kendall and Yvonne Anning with an amazing 51 points with Sheila Faulkner and Lynnette Lloyd taking second with 44 from Penny Lyne and Maria Clapp with 41.