Angling award winners

Sidmouth Angling club held their annual awards night recently. With member numbers up this year, the club’s fishing scene has come to life again and everyone was keen to find out who had won what. The club held over 30 competitions during the year from shore and boat, giving everyone a chance to get their name on some silverware!

Chris Atkins was named Shore Champion of 2010 after scoring the most points. Barry Trevett picked up the trophy for Best Shore-caught fish of the year with a small-eyed ray over 14lbs, a massive 141 per cent! The boat champion was Wayne Harwood with a total of just under 700 per cent of fish landed from the boat during 2010. Best Lady was won again by Francesca Trevett for the second year after she caught a good wrasse from the boat back in March.

The top junior prize went to Ryan Prowse after he beat off stiff competition to win by just one point! A massive thank you to all who turned out to make it such a good night.

?If you would like more info about joining the club then please call Kaz Millington on (01395) 515868, Juniors who want to start up call Alan French on 07877 832 713.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus