Beachcombers win Potbury’s bowls league at Sidmouth

Len Catford, President of Sidmouth Bowling Club, held his President’s Day on Wednesday and the game took the form of a competition between the President’s teams and the Chairman’s teams, all selected by Len, write Peter and Sue Mison.

This was played with full rinks with a tea provided by the ladies between the two bowling sessions.

Traditionally the President selects those who have made a contribution to club life, particularly to the unsung heroes who work behind the scenes and without whom the club would not exist.

The first session was won by one of the President’s teams, namely Mary Smith, Bob Daniels, Zena Johnson and Eileen Hewett by 18-11 with the President’s team leading overall by 16 shots at the end of the first session.

However, after tea the Chairman’s teams put in a supreme effort and eventually won the day overall by 87- 85. The winning rink in the second session was the Chairman’s team of Marian Watson, Jim Wrench, Dave Lever and Peter Mison by 19-4. It was a most enjoyable afternoon with the President presenting bottles of wine to the winning teams, flowers for the ladies who had prepared the tea, and wine for duty barman John Greenaway.

You may also want to watch:

?The Men held their annual section meeting with Maurice Watson being installed as captain for the Indoor Season 2012/2013, with Peter Mison as his vice captain.

Those who attended heard reports from the outgoing captain and the secretary on the 2011/2012 season and plans for season 2012/2013 from the incoming captain. A vote of thanks was given by Stuart Hamer to captain Peter Mison on a successful season.

Most Read

On Friday evening the finals of the Potbury’s Sidmouth League (which runs throughout the indoor season) took place with the League Cup Final being played between the Beachcombers (players from Madeira) and the Smugglers (players from Lyme Regis).

The Beachcombers were in no mood to give anything away and won convincingly with the game being conceded by the Smugglers before the 21 ends had been played. During the evening, a consolation competition was held between the other teams making up the League with the eventual winners being Exonia.

A delicious buffet was provided by Chris Hamer and her team and the evening was rounded off with the Chairman presenting the Sidmouth League Trophy and the Sidmouth League Cup to the Beachcombers.

The Smugglers were also runners up in the League. Following the presentations the chairman stated how grateful the club were to Potburys for sponsoring the league over many years.

He went on to thank Stuart Hamer for his hard work and attention to detail in running the event and to all the teams competing for making the Sidmouth League such an enjoyable competition. He wished everybody a good summer and looked forward to the next Sidmouth League commencing in October which will be the 40th anniversary of the competition.

?On Saturday, two sessions of the Closing Drive were held to mark the end of the Indoor Season.

In the morning session the winners were Anita Mason, Beryl Bacon, Zena Johnson and Mike Daw with a score of +14, and the afternoon winners were Sue Mison, Mary Bristow, Evelyn Clements and Stuart Hamer with a score of +23.

It was a very enjoyable occasion and a nice finale to the season.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus