Popps beat Ottery

PUBLISHED: 15:40 18 November 2011


WITH all six batsmen reaching the retirement score of 25, Exmouth passed the 200 mark against Newton St Cyres in the East Devon Indoor Cricket League, writes John Goodwin.

The batsman to make the most of his return to the crease was James Tapper who reached 45 not out.

Getting to 25 took him and Richard Arnold only seven balls and the rest of the line-up didn’t hang about either – the slowest 25s were in 13 balls by Matt Tarry and George Greenaway.

Ten overs passed before St Cyres claimed a wicket and by then the score was 157. Arnold departed after adding two to his 25 and next over Greenaway went for 32.

Tapper, whose 45 came in 13 balls, and Julian Page, who made 29 in 12 balls, saw the score past 200. Peter Hall, whose 29 took 10 balls, and Tarry did not make a second visit to the crease.

St Cyres replied with 114, Phil Denham making 30 and Tapper taking 3-21. Arnold got a taste of his own medicine being hit for three consecutive sixes in his one over which cost 29.

● Newton Poppleford got over losing a wicket in the first over of their reply to Ottery St Mary’s 128-5 to win with an over to spare.

The main scorers for Ottery were openers Alex Clements and Sam Tennant, with 36 not out and 37, respectively, and Will Harrison with 27.

Ottery’s big problem when bowling was no-balls, with 21 being sent down. Newton Poppleford took full toll of the extra balls with Kenny Clay, Andy Green and Matthew Raistrick all reaching or passing 25 in a four wicket victory.

● Debutant Dominic Bess, a sacrificial run out, was the only Sidmouth player to be dismissed as they reached 121-1 against Yarcombe & Stockland. Retirement scores came from Anthony Griffiths, Charlie Miles and John Goodwin and Nick Mansfield was 18 not out.

Lee Clayden was not called on to bat, but he made up for this with a fine bowling and fielding performance. He held a catch that ricocheted off roof and wall, took two wickets and set up a run out as Yarcombe were restricted to 79-5.

● Clyst Hydon II lost their unbeaten record to Tipton St John whose 128-5 owed much to Steve Shaw’s 47 not out.

The Clyst Hydon reply was swift but short and they were all out for 98 in nine overs, three run-outs hastening the demise.

•DEVON Senior Cup holders Sidmouth have been awarded the honour of staging the 2012 final at the Fort Field.

The Francis Clark Devon League received three bids to host the match, which will take place on Sunday, August 26, and Sidmouth emerged victorious from the draw. It will be the first time the Fort Field has staged the game.

If you value what this gives you, please consider supporting our work. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald