Three Sidmouth players in Devon side for T20 doubleheader on Monday at the Fortfield

PUBLISHED: 08:18 06 May 2018

Sidmouth Cricket Club at The Fortfield

Sidmouth Cricket Club at The Fortfield


Three Sidmouth players are in the Devon side for the bank holiday Monday Twenty20 double-header against Dorset on the Fortfield (11am).

But Devon skipper and Sidmouth all-rounder Josh Bess isn’t one of them as he is in London over the bank holiday weekend. Matt Thompson will captain the team.

Making the trip in the opposite direction is seam bowler Scott Barlow, who is coming down from London for the bank holiday.

Zac Bess, the captain’s brother, and Liam Lewis complete the trio of Sidmouth players in the Devon side.

And former Sidmouth keeper-batter Peter Randerson, who is now captain at Heathcoat, is returning to the Fortfield for his first Devon appearance since 2015.

It is going to be a busy bank holiday for Devon, who play Cornwall at Truro on Sunday in their first game in the new Unicorns T20 Cup.

The new competition takes place on days freed up by scaling down the 50-over Unicorns Trophy, which used to be played on a group basis leading to a knockout last eight.

Two games more than a hundred miles apart on consecutive games over a bank holiday weekend does present certain logistical problems for the Devon selection panel.

Three players not available on Sunday – Joe Thompson, George Benton and Alex Barrow – all come in for the Monday game against Dorset.

Joe Thompson’s last T20 game at Sidmouth was his man-of-the-match display with the bat for Torquay in the 2016 Devon Cup final against Bradninch. His ferocious 82 not out off 55 balls swung the game Torquay’s way.

Devon v Dorset: M W Thompson (St Fagins), R J Woodman (Taunton Deane), L J Lewis (Sidmouth), A W R Barrow (Exeter), Z G G Bess (Sidmouth), G R Chappell (Bradninch), P J Randerson (Heathcoat), J H Gibbs (North Devon), J E Thompson (Congresbury), S Barlow (Sidmouth), J A Stephens (Falmouth), J C Gore (Exeter), G Benton (Paignton), T J R Codd (Bovey Tracey).

Dorset: S W Currie (Hampshire Academy), B J Currie (Bashley (Rydall), Somerset II), J G Digby (Bashley Rydall), M T C Waller (Bridgwater), E J Ellis (St Cross & Symondians), L A Webb (High Wycombe), A J Eckland (North Perrott), J K H Naik (Sileby), T J Robinson (Poole), M A Wolstenholme (Northampton Saints), B J Walker (Totton & Ealing), C L Park (Bournemouth, J I McCoy (Havant).

Umpires: J S Attridge & G I Callaway.

Devon officials will be at the match accepting applications for membership of the county club.

The club is aiming to attract new members this season and has put together an attractive package of benefits.

All Devon members have been invited to a Devon day at Somerset CCC on Friday, May 11, when Hampshire are the visitors.

Admission – normally £18 – will be free to card-carrying Devon members, who will have their own reserved section in the Pavilion Stand.

Another incentive to join the county club this season is the chance to win a VIP day at a home game. A draw will take place every month of all members for a day at a game as a guest for lunch and tea.

Further details of how to join the club can be found on the Devon CCC pages of the Devon Cricket Board website.

If you value what this gives you, please consider supporting our work. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald