Croquet club cup winners

Nearly 70 members of the Sidmouth Croquet Club attended their AGM this month with the chairman, John Dixon, reporting on another successful season.

Nearly 70 members of the Sidmouth Croquet Club attended their AGM this month with the chairman, John Dixon, reporting on another successful season. Golf croquet sessions were very well supported with a new doubles competition for high handicap players up and running and more ideas planned for next year.Special mention was made of the big improvement to the lawns - - many favourable comments being passed by visitors to the club. groundsman Colin Whitehall was highly praised for such good results in his first season with Sidmouth.Robert Matthews and Pam Bowra were elected as additional committee members in line with the club policy of ensuring continuity of office over the years.Prizes were presented by John Palmer, long-serving member and House Chairman of the main club.Most of those attending stayed on to enjoy an excellent supper prepared by caterer Gill Hodge.Competition results: Dorothy Toye Cup: winner David Temple; runner-up John Dixon.Canton Egyptian Trophy: winner Mike Taylor; runner-up David Clarke.14 point game (high handicap): winner David Laidler; runner-up Jo McInerney.Corbett Spoons (one ball high handicap): winner Pam Bowra; runner-up Graeme Pryor.Corbett Spoons (one ball low handicap): winner David Temple; runner-up Tony Dustan-Smith.Robert Case Shield (shot game): winner David Temple; runner-up Derek Powell.Robert Case Tankard (shot game): winner Pam Bowra; runner-up Keith Thorley Colclough and Sidmouth Cups: winners Nancy Temple and Roger Hendy; runners-up Ken Wallman and Helen Pryor.Cunningham Salver (golf singles - high handicap): winner Anne Reece; runner-up Keith Thorley.Hatherley Cup (golf singles - low handicap): winner Tony Dustan-Smith; runner-up Michael Hide.Cunningham Salver (golf doubles - open): winners Richard Mills and Mike Taylor; runners-up Martin McInerney and Keith Thorley.Golf Trophy (doubles - high handicap): winners Dudley and Ann Ractliffe; runners-up Desmond Robertshaw and Keith Thorley.Devonia Cup (high handicap): winner Roger Hendy; runner-up David Laidler. Fermor Rose Bowl (ladies): winner Margaret Piper; runner-up Sue Rogers.Belmont Cup: winner Robert Hammond; runner-up Ken Wallman. Advanced Handicap Singles: winner David Clarke; runner-up Peter Miller.Humphrey Hicks (level advanced): winner Cliff Jones; runner-up Tony Dustan-Smith.New Members' Competition: winners Anne Hale and Keith Thorley; runners-up Claire Thompson and Monica Jones. Most Improved Player (high handicap): Roger Hendy.Most Improved Player (low handicap): Peter Hills.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus