Duckworth Lewis to be introduced in top flight Devon League matches

Sidmouth CC s Saj Patidar with Stuart Munday

Sidmouth CC s Saj Patidar with Stuart Munday - Credit: Archant

Sidmouth sent Saj Patidar along to the Francis Clark Devon League awards night to bring back the silverware, writes Conrad Sutcliffe.

The Premier Division title was regained from Exmouth after a 12-month absence. Sidmouth 2nd XI won Premier Two as well.

Patidar is a former skipper of both teams so it made sense to dispatch him to collect the cups.

Awards for the 2014 season were handed out by league chairman Stuart Munday immediately after the competition annual meeting at the Exeter Court Hotel at Kenford.

Player of the year was Sidmouth’s Josh Bess. Young player of the year went to Exeter’s Ben Green, who is about to fly off to Dubai to play for England U17s aganst Pakistan.

You may also want to watch:

The annual meeting was a relatively calm affair with only one major rule revision.

The Duckworth Lewis formula will replace old-fashioned run-rate as the method used for calculating winners in ran-affected games in the Premier Division next season.

Most Read

Gavin Lane, the rules officer for the league, negotiated a deal with ECB to licence Duckworth-Lewis in the Premier Division only.

Will Murray, the Sidmouth captain, said the switch to Duckworth Lewis was long overdue.

“It will help make the competition a far more level playing field in rain-affected games,” said Murray. “I am very much in favour and looking forward to it.”

A less significant change was reducing the number of power plays in a game from three to two.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus