East Devon Youth Cricket League seeking new chairman

A view from a cricket scorebox

A view from a cricket scorebox - Credit: Archant

Exeter teams dominated prizegiving at the Bradleys East Devon Youth League awards evening, writes Conrad Sutcliffe.

But Ottery St Mary denied Exeter a clean sweep in all three divisions by lifting the under-13 title.

Sides from the County Ground won the under-14 and under-15 divisions. At under-13 level, Ottery St Mary pipped Budleigh Salterton by a point for the title.

The top three run-getters in the under-15 division were Sandford’s Jem Fawsett (168), Eddie Rudolph of Ottery (150) and Exeter’s Alex Holifield (149). Pick of the wicket takers were Ottery pair Matt Jeacock (9) and Lawrence Walker (8), followed jointly by Topsham SJ’s Jerin Tojy (7) and Heathcoat’s Nathan White (7).

Principal run scorers at under-14 level were Sandford Tom Hatton (165), his clubmate Sammy Broomhead (106) and Holifield (97). The stand-out bowler with six wickets at 5.50 each was Max Mayor (Ottery).

You may also want to watch:

At under-13 level, the batting honours went to Heathcoat’s Josh Withey (115), Fin Hill of Exeter CC (100) and Budleigh’s Fin Cotton (94). Ottery bowlers Lewis Morgan, Will Crick and Soreen Hall filled three of top five bowing slots in the division.

Exeter picked up all the league cups, except one. Under-13 was the one and only level where Exeter failed to win the divisional cup. Exeter did reach the final, but were 45-run losers to Heathcoat.

Most Read

In the other cup finals, all sponsored by Devon County Sports, Exeter under-11s defeated Sandford by 59 runs, the under-12s saw off Heathcoat by nine wickets, the under-14s were six-wicket victors over Ottery and the under-15s beat Heathcoat by eight wickets.

The league, founded in 1991, has around 100 teams from 24 clubs all over East Devon in its ranks. Since 2011 the chairman has been Robert Bradshaw-Smith, but not for much longer.

Bradshaw-Smith, whose club tie is with Ottery St Mary, will be standing down at the annual meeting next month, which means the search is on for a replacement.

“All the officer posts are in place for next season as Sheila will carry on as results secretary, Ian Jeacock will do fixtures, Fred Harding will deal with disputes and Charlie Dibble is still treasurer,” said Bradshaw-Smith.

“Before the annual meeting I will have written a new job description for chairman, which will be put out there to see who is interested.”

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus