End of season winners

The adult finals started with the much-awaited match between last year’s winner Viv Bess, who was hoping to retain her crown against the highly-talented Louis Turley in the ladies’ championship.

Both ladies had been seen on the practice courts beforehand indicative of a strong desire to win by both players. Despite Turley serving with both speed and accuracy, it was the reigning champion that won the really key points, enabling her to record a 6-4 6-3 victory, a score line that scarcely did justice to an encounter fully worthy of its final status.

It was a similar story in the men’s final ,contested by Mark Heywood and Martin Truman, both of whom were new members to the club this year.The outcome of the first set was decisive and it was only by clinching the tie break that Heywood edged ahead, an advantage that became increasingly clear as the second set progressed to bring the match to a conclusion, which saw a score line of 7-6 6-0 in favour of Heywood.

The men’s doubles saw the strong pairing of former skipper Greg Pepper and Mike Fletcher starting as slight favourites against the experienced duo of David Thorneley and Peter Fung. Pepper and Fletcher clinched the first set 6-2 but seemed to lose concentration and, in no time at all, their opponents had raced to taking the second set 6-1. The Championship tie Break went to Pepper and Fletcher 10-5.

After a much-needed rest, next on court were Mark Heywood and Martin Truman with their respective partners Nicki Keele and Lesley Cranston to contest the Mixed Doubles Final. After another long, enthralling match, Heywood and Keele won 6-3, 3-6 10-7 in the championship tie break.

You may also want to watch:

The day was concluded with an entertaining Boys’ U18 final, which saw Jake Harrison, winner of the Boys’ U14 final last year, step up and overcome the reigning champion Sam Rosam 6-2, 6-1, reversing the result of the previous year.

Club Chairman Grant Whillance, with his wife Elinor, presented trophies to the winners and extended a warm vote of thanks to tournament organisers, Nicki Keele and Debbie Snelgrove, and secretary Di Kendall-Torry.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus