Exeeter Aces beaten by defending British Team Cup champions

Exeter Aces were beaten 102-73 when they faced defending British Team Cup champions Horspath in the first round of this year’s BTC competition, the cycle speedway equivalent of the FA Cup.

Proceedings started off well for Exeter with two consecutive 6-4 heat advantage courtesy of Aaron Herbert, Richard Bessant, Thomas Reed and Andy Stone.

Horspath soon hit back though with more force, claiming maximum points in heats three and four.

Reed and Bessant did enough to gain Exeter’s first 7-3 of the day over the Hammer’s Simon Munden but once again the villagers showed there was no room for error with another seven pointer in the sixth heat.

Craig Nethercott managed to put pressure on Dave Carmichael just before the interval which allowed Rob Geach to make it four heat wins for the Aces.

You may also want to watch:

After the break, Reed continued to show why he’s the best rider in Devon taking the win and the green and white army had to wait until heat 14 for another win, again from Reed.

That was Exeter’s last win of the day and with some fierce and physical riding from Horspath, they successfully started their BTC campaign in style.

Most Read

Reasults: Tom Reed 18+1, Aaron Herbert 11, Craig Nethercott 10, Richard Bessant 10, Rob Geach 9, Andy Stone 7, Dave Murphy 5, Dan Winchester 2

Exeter’s next event is at home to Hellingly in the South West league on Sunday June 30, with a 2pm start and admission is free.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus