Kart drivers tested by Dunkeswell rain

Kart racing season opens

Dunkeswell Kart Racing Club – 2011 Championship Round 1

Just under 80 drivers braved the weather as Dunkeswell Kart Racing Club opened its 2011 championship at a rain swept Mansell Raceway in East Devon.

With 8 classes racing, including the visiting NKRA Senior Blues it was going to be a busy weekend for all involved. The weather as usual was playing its part as a blue sky soon darkened and the inevitable Dunkeswell Downpour occurred.

2010 champion, Izaac Channing started off as he finished with a light to flag win in the Libre cadet class flying the flag for Comer against a hoard of Hondas.

You may also want to watch:

Alex Quinn followed him home fairly untroubled with Ryan Anderton climbing through the pack from 7th to take the last place on the podium. Next up were the 250 National boys and despite a small grid the racing was close and intense. When the flag came out, Juan Moreno took the win with new boy, Ash Goodliffe just pipping Stuart Mansell into third place.

The Junior Blue and Mini Max final was going to be a tricky affair after the incoming weather front just skirted the circuit enough to dampen the track making the slick shod juniors pay a little more attention! Ben Pearson headed home the Junior Blue final with William Goodhew in second and Ryan Edgecombe in third. In Minimax, James Moorcroft took the flag with Sam Stephens crossing the line just ahead of Jamie Chadwick.

Most Read

By now the track was wet enough to cause a flurry of tyre changes as the Senior Rotax class switched to wets. Gemma Batstone dominated the final leading from start to finish with class new comer, Ellis Bee, storming from 5th on the grid to 2nd to lead home Alex Miles in third. In the 177 Rotax class there was a major gamble going on with some drivers heading out on slicks only to find the conditions still too wet for that option.

Up front, Colin Davis was putting his experience to good use as he held off a strong Stwe Baker to win; Baker was second with Tom Cook in third. By now the track was border line and fortune favoured the brave as three drivers who went out on slicks dominated as the track dried and come to them. Mac Austin on his return to Dunks marked it with a win. Peter Saxby was second and behind him was Beau Spivey who drove an awesome race to come from 10th to take third place. Last up were the visiting Senior Blues.

Chris Derrick overcame a disastrous start to fight his way back from 9th to take the chequered flag. Behind him was Duncan McLeod who also had a great recovery drive and in third place was Kevin Ford. With trophies down to P5 for strong grids and cost reducing incentives to be announced, it’s not too late to start your 23011 campaign with all club members getting a 50 point bonus at their first race of the season.

Next round is 26/27 March so see you there.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus