Leaders Clyst race to victory

EAST Devon Indoor Cricket League champions-elect Clyst Hydon took fewer than five overs to knock off the 70 runs needed to beat Tipton St John, writes John Goodwin.

Alistair Gibbins, with 27 not out, provided the only lasting resistance and got some support from last man Dave O’Higgins to deny Clyst Hydon bowling their side out.

However, a total of 69-4 was unlikely to trouble the league leaders who did not lose a wicket as they raced to victory with openers Simon Holmes and Lewis Morgan both passing the 25 retirement mark.

?Clyst St George’s 131-4 proved beyond Newton Poppleford who finished 30 runs adrift. Clyst St George openers Clinton Lewis and Oz Besley got to the retirement mark and came back for seconds after Newton Poppleford completed three run-outs, including Dave Takle for 31. Lewis finished on 39 not out

Tom Clay was out for 28 and Richard Coombes was unbeaten on the same score as Newton Poppleford reached 101-4.

You may also want to watch:

?Ottery St Mary could not inject enough pace into their batting against Newton St Cyres, reaching 96-3 and last man Will Harrison not getting to the crease. Opener Alex Clements was 25 not out and Alex Thurgate was run out for 22.

With Dave Church and Mike Pearce both making 25s, Newton St Cyres eased home with an over to spare.

Most Read

?Top individual and team score of the day came from Exmouth whose 147 all out against Yarcombe and Stockland featured 66 from George Greenway.

Pete Hall atoned for a duck when batting with two cheap wickets as Yarcombe reached 93-4 in reply.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus