N1 Tri Club awards evening proves a big sucess

Vaness Glyn Jones who received a special award at the N1 Tri Club Awards Evening

Vaness Glyn Jones who received a special award at the N1 Tri Club Awards Evening - Credit: Archant

Last weekend saw N1 Tri Club stage their annual awards evening at Escot Village Hall.

The awards for the junior athletes of the year went to Ollie Caute and Izzy Beech.

Both have raced extensively and have achieved podium places at every outing, including wins as juniors within a senior race, against established triathletes.

The senior triathletes of the year were Nick Johnson and Helen Jones. Both completed Ironman events during the year.

Nick returned to Barcelona for a second attempt at a course which thwarted him in 2015, as he unwittingly cycled most of the 110-mile bike course with his brakes touching the rims!

You may also want to watch:

He duly finished the 2016 meeting, achieving the 12-hour time he’d trained hard for.

Helen has also seen huge success at the Iron distance, with her most notable result being a third place podium finish at the competitive Outlaw event, with an impressive sub 11 hour clocking, in addition to age-group wins at other events throughout the season.

Most Read

The Tom Scriven Memorial award was a popular choice, presented to Matt Collins, for overcoming extreme illness and adversity to go on to complete an Ironman… having never taken part in any other triathlons before! His positive attitude and determined spirit saw him successfully complete Ironman Vichy, in France, much to the delight of his fellow N1 friends.

The chairman’s award, presented by N1 chairman Garry Perratt, went to Lisa Braunton. In her very first season of triathlon, Lisa’s epitomised the club motto, Be the best you can be, by continually challenging her own limits, culminating in the successful completion of a half-iron distance event in the Cotswolds.

The president’s award, awarded by president Dennis Elliott, went to Ellie Dominey for her services to the club this year.

Since joining in 2015, she has instigated many new ideas and taken on the role of club communications officer and club captain. She always strives to support and encourage the success of all the members.

Last, but far from least significant, was the Karl Hodgson award for Excellence; Vanessa Glyn-Jones was this year’s worthy recipient. As N1’s most senior member, Vanessa is a role model to all in the club.

She constantly strives to better herself and never accepts age as being a barrier to personal goals. She is a consummate perfectionist in her training and racing, and this is reflected in her being a multiple capped GB age-group athlete.

Chiefly, she is a humble, unassuming, kind person who the club is lucky to count among its members: an example of excellence to all.

The Westpoint Duathlon series awards were also given out, with the senior winners being Jake Smith and Ellie Dominey, with Mike Mears and Maggie Hunt claiming the veteran prizes.

The coveted polka-dot jerseys for the N1 King of the Mountains hill climb competition were also presented, to Garry Perratt (King of the Mountains) and Ellie Dominey (Queen of the Mountains).

It was a great night celebrating both individual and also the collective success of a small club which strives to make a big impact and be the best it can be.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus