New season approaches for Sidmouth RFC

SRFC Men & Women 2021-22

SRFC Men & Women 2021-22 - Credit: IG@_fraser73

Training is well under way at the Blackmore Field for the for the start of the rugby season. 

The season opens with the visit of Topsham on Friday, August 12 as the first of three warm-up games in preparation for the first league game against Newton Abbot on September 3.  

Aberaeron will be the opposition on August 20, followed by a trip to Exmouth the following week. 

Following a reorganisation of the national league structure, the Chiefs will be playing in Tribute Regional 2 South West. Meanwhile, the Quins have joined the league system for the first time and will play in Tribute Devon East. 

There has also been a restructure of the Devon Cups. The Chiefs will play at the top level, the Devon Senior Cup, for the first time for several years. The Quins will play in a cup competition for the first time in almost 70 years, having entered the new Devon 2nd XV Cup. 

Phil Dollman continues as Player Head Coach with Josh Bess and Tom Butler remaining as captains of the Chiefs and Quins respectively. Meanwhile, former Exeter Chiefs hooker Chris Whitehead replaces Jack Yeandle as forwards coach. 

The women’s team, the Valkyries, go into their second season, having proved their viability with a series of friendly fixtures last season. This season they will play in the Challenger 3 League South West (West), aiming to prove they are ready to join the national league system. Their opening fixture is at home to Helston on Sunday, September 25. 

Chiefs Fixtures 2022/23 
Sep 3: Newton Abbot (H), Sep 10: North Petherton (A), Sep 17: Sherborne (H), Sep 24 Teignmouth (A), Oct 1: St Austell (H), Oct 15: Wellington (H), Oct 22: Truro (A), Oct 29: Wadebridge Camels (H), Nov 4: Bridgewater & Albion (H), Nov 12: Chard (H), Nov 26: Crediton (A), Dec 3: North Petherton (H), Dec 10: Sherborne (A), Dec 17: Teignmouth (H), Jan 7: St Austell (A), Jan 14 Wellington (A), Jan 21: Truro (H), Jan 28: Wadebridge Camels (A), Feb 11: Bridgewater & Albion (H), Feb 18: Chard (A), Mar 4: Crediton (H), Mar 11: Newton Abbot (A)