No glory for Tipton’s super vet O’Higgins

EAST Devon Indoor Cricket League champions-elect Clyst Hydon came close to breaking the 200 total mark again, making 195-2 against Newton St Cyres, writes John Goodwin.

Chris Jelley and Lewis Bowen were the only wickets to fall, both run out, for 26 and 13 respectively.

Ian Sutton made 53 in two visits to the crease and there was 42 from P Milner, 30 from Graham Trude and 26 from Lewis Morgan.

Newton St Cyres’ C Lewis eclipsed Sutton with 56 not out, but he did not have the same support from his team-mates, save for C Brown with 22 not out. They took the side to 118-4.

Dave O’Higgins, the league’s most senior player in his 70s, needed to make 17 off the final over to take Tipton St John past the 115-3 made by Honiton.

You may also want to watch:

He had 36 to his name and was the last surviving batsman after losing Alex Tubbs for 34 in the seventh over, which put his side at 70-5.

There was to be no glory, however, because he was out to the first ball of T Strawbridge’s final over. Honiton’s total was built around Rob Ingram’s 56 not out and A Holmes’ 25 not out.

Most Read

Sidmouth had runs all down the order in a total of 142-3 against Yarcombe & Stockland, Anthony Griffiths making 29, Jamie Wardrop and brother Fionn, both making 25 not out, Greg Chaplin 22 and Miles Dalton 17. Yarcombe replied with 68-4. Exmouth had an off-day against Clyst Hydon II, making 57 all out in reply to Clyst’s 118-5, which featured an unbeaten 42 from Lewis Morgan.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus