Ogbourne and Delasalle land Player of the Year awards at SOHC

Sidmouth and Ottery Mens 4th at home to North Devon A. Photo by Terry Ife ref shsp 9529-12-13TI To o

Sidmouth and Ottery Mens 4th at home to North Devon A. Photo by Terry Ife ref shsp 9529-12-13TI To order your copy of this photo go to www.sidmouthherald.co.uk and click on myphotos24 - Credit: Archant

Sidmouth and Ottery Hockey club celebrated their first year as one hockey club with an awards evening held at Sidmouth Pavilion.

This annual event celebrates the success of the teams and individuals within the club and recognises the talent of SOHC rising stars.

This was also an opportunity for the club members to show their appreciation to those who have contributed to the club over the year.

It has been a very good first year too with the club fielding six men’s and four ladies’ teams. There was promotion fro the South East Division 2 for the men’s 5th XI and solid performances for the majority of teams in their respective leagues.

One really impressive thing about the new club is the continual development of youngsters the two Academies at Sidmouth and Ottery where coaches and volunteers provide coaching every Sunday morning that has seen consistent attendances of 150 plus.

You may also want to watch:

As a result the club has entered a number of tournaments in Exeter and Plymouth with team sat Under-10 and Under-12 for boys and girls.

The Under-14 boys finished a most creditable fourth in a large South West and Wales tournament held at Bath University.

Most Read

In all fourteen junior boys and girls gained county honours: Frankie Elliott, Millie Moore and Ellie Marok in the Under-14s. Jess Oliver, Becky Rushworth and Natalie Wright in the Under-15s.

There was county recognition for Helen Mylne and Georgia Wilson in the Under-17s and also for Jack Ellison and Callum Lefebvre in the Under14s. Charlie King and Billy Rudolph represented at Under-15 level and James Plowman and Anthony Dibble both played in the Under-17s.

SOHC president Keith Baker said at the awards evening: “I am pleased the new club has shown a solid start in its first year and, with the successful growth of the junior section, there is clearly great potential for the future.”

The awards handed out for the season were as follows.

Player of the Year Awards: Men 1st XI - Matthew Ogbourne; Men 2nd XI - Jon Hext;

Men 3rd XI - James Plowman; Men 4th XI - Rob Jackson; Men 5th XI - Steve Ellison; Men 6th XI - Tom Gardner.

Ladies 1st XI - Hayley Delasalle; Ladies 2nd XI - Anna Bowker; Ladies 3rd XI - Sarah Dean; Ladies 4th XI - Jane Roberts.

Young Player of the Year (male) - Dan Vincent. Young Player of the Year (female) - Hope Burgess. Most Improver Player (male) - Will Gardner and Most Improved Player (female) - Molly Adkin.

Other awards handed out were; Clubman of the Year - Steve Ellison; Clubwoman of the Year - Karen Dutton; The John Parbury Award - Nick Smale and the Team of the Year award was lifted by the Men’s 5th XI.

Last, but certainly not least, the Chairman’s Awards went to Sarah Hutchings and Mike Dutton.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus