Ottery team wins the Redferns Trophy Day at Ottery St Mary

PUBLISHED: 15:34 09 August 2013 | UPDATED: 15:34 09 August 2013

Tim Wright of Redferns congratulates the winners of the competition

Tim Wright of Redferns congratulates the winners of the competition


Ottery St Mary staged another most successful Redferns Trophy Day, writes Peter Bebb.

The weather stayed fine and Ottery retained the trophy with their team comprising Terri Ward, Gerry Beighton, Janet Bebb and John Ward.

The Otters won by the narrowest of margins, beating the team from Madeira by a single point whilst a further point behind Madeira, taking third spot were the team from Sidmouth.

It was another success for the club when Mollie Parker, Joan Saunders and Sharon Kenny travelled to Honiton and won the ladies Invitation Triples competition.

It was also a successful day for Peter Jones, Tony Bushell, Chris Hawke and Brian Light when they went to Combe Martin to represent the County President in a section 3 versus section 1 competition and they returned victorious thanks to a 22-16 win.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Sidmouth Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald