Pike quick off the mark at Wiscombe

Local drivers were in the winners’ enclosure at Wiscombe Park over the weekend where the Torbay Motor Club held their meet.

Having taken a break away from the sport Feniton’s Martyn Pike returned to speed hillclimbing and Wiscombe Park at the weekend and took up where he left off.

The Ford Escort driver was the dominant force in the Modified Limited Production Car (1400 c.c. to 1800 c.c.) class setting the pace throughout the weekend which comprised of two meetings. The Saturday event promoted by Torbay Motor Club and the following day Wildlife Autosport were the hosts.

Pike was quick from the outset. The Saturday practice sessions saw the project consultant show his intent with forty four second climbs but during the course of the weekend with each visit to the course he posted an improvement, leaving his best at 42.96 seconds. Such pace netted two class victories for the man who was the Wiscombe Champion in 2008.

Pike was not the only local driver to take a double class win however. The over 2600 c.c. division of the Modified Limited Production Classes saw Den Conibear and his Nissan GTiR in winning form. The form of the experienced driver allied to the speed and nimble handling of the Japanese machine saw the Crediton man take two victories with comfortable margins. On the Saturday it was the similar car of Ian Yeo who claimed the runner-up slot. The Willand driver trailing by 1.79 seconds. The following day it was the Porsche 911 GT3 of Peter Turnbull from St Austell who made the challenge but could not close on Conibear who took the honours, on this occasion by 1.97 seconds.

You may also want to watch:

A double victory was also claimed by Dave Gardner in the up to 1100 c.c. racing car class. The Awliscombe driver was in a determined frame of mind in an attempt to get as close to the large capacity V8 powered single-seater racing cars as possible. His rapid motorcycle engine Empire 001, in which wife Pam shares the driving duties, was fastest in the class throughout the morning practice runs on both Saturday and Sunday and this form was carried through to good effect with a brace of victories despite an off at the Sawbench Hairpin on his second competitive run on Saturday. Gardner’s best climb was 39.50 seconds which compares with the Fastest Time of the day posted by Terry Graves in his 3.5 litre Gould GR37. Graves was the outright victor in both meetings but his fastest climb came on Sunday with a 37.36 when he fended off the challenge of Pilbeam MP58 mounted Rod Thorne who’s best was a 37.99 in his return to single-seaters having campaigned the MP43 sports car for the last couple of seasons.

The coming weekend (May 21/22) sees another double meeting at Wiscombe Park with all of the previously mentioned back in action with the exception of Graves. This would suggest the battle for the overall win will be fought out by four drivers campaigning Pilbeam MP58s. We expect to see John and Andrew Forsyth with their 3.5 litre Cosworth powered version go head to head with the Judd engine car of Colin Pook and Rod Thorne.

Most Read

Gates open for the practice runs at 10.00 with the competitive event starting after a lunch break. The meeting should be completed by 17.30.

Admission: Saturday & Sunday �7.00 per adult. Accompanied children under 14 FREE. Car Parking FREE. Transfer to the competitor’s enclosure FREE.

Catering and licenced bar available.

Wiscombe Park is situated north of Blackberry Camp and will be signposted from Honiton and on the A3052.

For more Wiscombe information go to http://www.wiscombepark.co.uk

Release ends …..

PHOTO 6128:

Dave Gardner powers his Empire 001 away from the Wiscombe Park start-line. The Awliscombe driver claimed two wins and challenged the larger capacity racing cars.

For further media information please contact: Geoff Pickett

Telephone/Facsimile: 01305 251662 Mobile: 07765 094380

e-mail: mailto:media@wiscombepark.co.uk

The fastest time of the day was from Launceston’s Terry Graves in his Gould GR37 with his first run of 37.72 seconds.


Launceston’s Terry Graves, in his immaculate Gould GR37, took Fastest Time of the Day on Saturday at Wiscombe Park with an electrifying first run of 37.72 seconds,

Sponsored by the local partnership of The Tipton Garage and Alansway Body Repairs, Torbay Motor Club’s Wiscombe event was again held in dry, bright and mostly sunny conditions, although cooler conditions later in the afternoon contributed to no fewer than nine classes being decided by the first timed runs.

Other Torbay Motor Club members to take home class awards were Westward Ho! resident Andy Cawsey (2nd in B3), Ian Yeo from Willand (2nd in C4) and Whimple’s Ben Stephenson (2nd in E1).

In the lunch interval there was a demonstration run by Team Lucy, a Greenpower series electric car built by technology students from Newton Abbot College. The car was on display in the paddock and many competitors took time to give the students advice and engineering tips to help them in their bid to reach the national finals at Goodwood in October for the second time.

Class Winners:

A1 Steve Harris (Cranbourne) Vauxhall Nova 51.12

A2 Hugh Trotman (Chippenham)Lotus Else 160 46.41

A3 Anthony Wright (Wellington) Audi A3 45.69

A4 Antony Bulpitt (Romsey) Ford RS Cosworth 44.00

B1/B2 Keith Hazell (Old Basing) Sylva Stryker 47.40

B3Mike Williams (Warminster) Westfield SEiW 44.33

C1 Vince Stone (Gillingham) Austin Mini 45.21

C2 Martyn Pike (Feniton)Ford Escort Mk1 43.71

C3 Phillip Lillington (Chard) Vauxhall Astra 44.53

C4 Den Conibear (Crediton) Nissan Pulsar GTiR 43.99

D1/D2 Simon Marsh (Andover) Mallock Mk18 BW 43.35

E1 Dave Gardner (Honiton) Empire 001 39.68

E2/3 Mike Lee (Saltash)OMS 2000M 37.94

E4 Andrew Forsyth (Blandford) Pilbeam MP58 39.23

F2 Mark Everett (Frome) TVR Chimaera 47.51

Motor Bikes:

FTD Martin Robbins (Worcester) KTM-KBR41.84

Z-3 Jon & Alex Warren (Bridgwater) Suzuki Trike 46.63

Z-Side Patrick & Paul Keates (Wellington) Baker F1 46.06

Best Torbay Motor Club Member (not to win another award) – Stuart Browne (Chard) - OMS SF2 – 40.57

Most Entertaining Driver (Marshal’s Award) - Martyn Pike (Feniton) - Ford Escort Mk1

The event was a round of:

The Association of South Western Motor Clubs Bridge Tyres and Wheels 2011 Hill Climb Championship,

The Association of Central Southern Motor Clubs Hamilton Classic 2011 Speed Hillclimb Championship,

The Welsh Association of Motor Clubs Trident Engineering 2011 Welsh Sprint and Hillclimb Championship,

The Bridge Tyres and Wheels 2011 Wiscombe Hill Climb Championship, and

The 2011 Torbay Motor Club Speed Championship.

The TVR Car Club 2011 Speed Championship.

The event supported the Devon Air Ambulance Trust. Web-link: www.daat.org


Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus