Ready to wallow in Hippo

Hopefully the post London lethargy will have passed as this Sunday sees two quite diverse challenges in the Great West Run in Exeter and the Honiton Hippo, a scenic seven-miler incorporating the Land Rover Experience course around Awliscombe.

?In the meantime the club recently held its ninth AGM after another successful year. Chris Long takes over again as chairman of the club and the members welcome Sarah Brown, Gareth Horrocks, Cathy Keast, Aaron Smith and Phil Welsford to the committee. ?The Trophies for Lady and Male Runners of the year were presented to Cathy Keast and Milan Goc respectively and the popular “Runners’ Runner of the Year “ went to Helen Palmer .

?Becky Robson was the winner of the Muttersmoor Time Trial series over the 4 mile course having run consistently well over the five races whilst Toby Garrick was awarded the Shield for the shorter two-mile course.

Di Puzey, the retiring chairman, presented Colin Flood her award for his untiring work for the club during the year and Louise Brown, albeit reluctantly, accepted the Wooden Spoon for losing her allocated race number under questionable circumstances.

Junior Cups are also to be presented to Dulcie Grierson and Matthew Sheridan.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus