Richardson wins first Tug Wilson Cup

One hundred and seventy players, officials and supporters attended the Sidmouth Rugby Club dinner dance and presentation evening at Sandy Park.

The following awards were presented:

First XV Player of the Year - Tom Whelan; Most Improved Player - James Powell; Second XV Player of the Year - Ben Pratt; Most Improved Player - Lewis Tollerfield; Third XV Player of the Year - Adam Squance; Patrons’ Player of the Year - Tom Whelan

A new award was added this year in honour of Director of Rugby Tug Wilson, who died suddenly earlier this year. The Tug Wilson Cup is awarded to the player/clubman for a significant contribution as a volunteer. The first player to receive the award was 1st XV captain Sam Richardson in recognition of the extra responsibility he took on following the death of Tug Wilson. Pictures: Pete Bond.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus