Sid Vale celebrate another wonderful season.

14 year boy winner

14 year boy winner - Credit: Archant

Sid Vale Swimming Club held their 2013 annual awards ceremony at Sidmouth Rugby Club following the club championships held over a number of weekends this year, writes John Beglin.

The championships comprised all four strokes and the individual medley over a variety of distances up to 400m with points accumulated based on individual positions in each event. Age group champions were determined based on the swimmers with the highest points total across the events.

The boys age group champions for 2013 were; 8 years and under – Dougal Hastie; 9 years old – Oliver Beech; 10 years old - Henry Rousseau; 11 years old - Sam Vega-Buttery; 12 years old – Finlay Johnson; 13 years old - Thomas Davy; 14 years old - Jonathan Surtees; 15 years old - Michael Overton; Open - Rob Walkden.

Age group champions for the girls were; 10 years old and under - Darcy Hastie; 11 years old - Hannah Rudgard; 12 years old - Connie Harris; 13 years old – Aimee Keast; 14 years old - Victoria Wyant; 15 years old – Hannah Jones; 16 years old - Phillippa Wyant; Open - Hannah Domhof.

Two additional trophies were awarded to swimmers for the 800 and 1500 metres.

You may also want to watch:

The 800m was awarded to Issy Beech, who only just missed out on the 12yo age group cup, with the1500m going to Matthew Domhof.

In addition to the age group championships a number of swimmers were chosen to receive special category awards.

Most Read

The award for the most improved girl swimmer in the club was awarded to Maisy Faulkner with Dougal Hastie receiving the most improved swimmer award for the boys.

Special effort awards were given to James Byron, who coach Malcolm Black would like to see get a county time in the next year and Elizabeth Rudgard.

The coaches award were given to Finlay Johnson and Aimee Keast.

The Peter Bradnam trophy for the best club member was awarded without hesitation, according to Malcolm Black, to Hannah Rudgard.

Part of the awards ceremony involves the clubs coaches taking the opportunity to appoint club captain’s for the forthcoming year.

The boy’s captain for is to be Ed Bugler and the girl’s captain is to e shared between Hannah Domhof and Jessica Bendle.

One well deserved award on the night was the shield for services to the club which was awarded to a long standing volunteer of the club, Kay Faulkner.

Other awards on the night were presented to Julie Domhof who stood down from her various positions she had held over a number of years as part of the committee. In fact she at one stage had done most of the tasks of the committee single-handedly!

The presentation night also gave the swimmers and parents the opportunity to say goodbye to outgoing coach Malcolm Black, who has been with the club for the last three years.

Committee chairman, Louise Hastie, thanked him for all his hard work with the swimmers over the years whilst wishing him every success in the future. The night was rounded off by a disco and a rather difficult quiz set by one of the swimmers, which I believe was not won!

The swimmer in question has obviously overstated the intelligence of some of the parents.

Thanks to the volunteers and all the parents who helped organise the evening and provide a quality buffet.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus