Sidmouth CC awards handed out - Anthony Griffiths lands 1st XI batsman of the year award.

Sidmouth Cricket Club celebrated another wonderful season with an awards evening.

In attendance were over fifty people included players, past players and supporters.

Addressing the gathering the cricket chairman Mike Dibble highlighted the unprecedented success the club had achieved over the past five seasons winning four out of the last five campaigns in the Francis Clark Devon League Premier Division.

In 2012 the 1st XI won the league and cup double for the second time. Special praise was reserved for skipper Will Murray and vice captain Nick Gingell, the latter stepping down for the 2013 season.

The 2nd and 3rd XIs also had much better seasons and captains Matt Hewer and Graham Munday were thanked for their contributions in 2012.

You may also want to watch:

Anthong Griffiths was awarded the 1st XI Batsman of the Year award after he scored 446 runs in the premier winning season. Griffiths finished with an average of 44.60 and only two players, David Lye of Exmouth and Chris Small of Heathcoat, scored more top flight runs.

The 1st XI Bowler of the Year award was Mill Murray after he claimed 21 wickets which was also the haul of Matt Cooke who was awarded the Players Player of the Year trophy for his splendid campaign. In addition to his wickets Cooke also scored 386 runs making him one of the most effective all-rounder’s in the Premier Division.

Most Read

In terms of the 2nd XI awards the batsman’s trophy was picked up Matt Hewer who chalked up 469 runs in the season with a highest of 119 scored in the derby game and his run haul was the best of any 2nd XI Premier Division batsman.

The 2nd XI bowling award was won by Charlie Dibble who was finished the season as the 2nd XI Premier Division leading wicket taker with 36 wickets from 165.4 overs, 50 of which were maidens and he returned a magnificent average of 10.94.

The 3rd Xi batting award went to Simon Sobczak who had a superb season with both bat and ball as he scored 405 runs with a highest of 104 not out scored against Kingsbridge and ended with an average of 57.86.

No other 2nd XI B Division batsmen scored more runs than Sobczak who also took 17 wickets with the ball.

The 3rd XI bowling award was won by Graham Munday who claimed 17 B Division wickets.

The other awards handed out on the night were; 1st XI highest score - Josh Bess; playing clubman - John Goodwin; Non playing clubman - John Palmer; Most promising colt - Dominic Bess; Most improved player - Anthony Dibble; Services to cricket - Di Wadsworth and last but certainly not least, Player’s Player - Matt Cooke.

In a lovely touch Di Wadsworth then presented framed copies of scorecards to Henry Gater, Dominic Bess and Anthony Dibble to mark the occasion of their first centuries for the club.

There was also a frame for Dan Powell who had to leave the event early.

The club were grateful to the Woodlands Hotel for hosting the event and Anthony Griffiths for organising it.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus