Sidmouth CC fly area flag in final

SIDMOUTH will represent the East Devon Indoor Cricket League at the county finals night on Sunday.

They and Clyst Hydon had been waiting for an adjudication on who would go forward after both teams finished the qualifying period on the same points, having lost one game each.

Sidmouth edged through on net wickets, the difference between wickets taken and lost.

In the first semi final at the Devon Cricket Centre of Excellence on the Exeter University Campus they will meet Bovey Tracey, starting at 6.15pm. Cornwood and Shobrooke Park contest the other semi final.

?In their most recent match, Sidmouth’s first four batsmen all registered the retirement score of 25 as the side amassed 182-3 against Newton St Cyres.

You may also want to watch:

With the other two players lasting only four balls between them, there were second helpings for Anthony Griffiths who went on to make 57 not out, Anthony Dibble, run out for 34 and Miles Dalton unbeaten on 30. Charlie Miles's 25 was a brief affair, taking seven balls.

Newton St Cyres' reply was restricted to 74-5, Rob Ingram unbeaten on 27.

Most Read

?Having bowled Ottery St Mary out for 95 in 10 overs, Yarcombe & Stockland spurned their chance of victory and finished 22 runs adrift with two wickets in hand.

To protect their side’s vulnerable total Will Harrison conceded only 10 runs and Sam Loud's two wickets cost a cheap 16 runs. This pair had contributed most of Ottery's runs with 21 and 18 respectively.

?Tipton St John failed to take a wicket as Clyst St George rattled up 145 with Clinton Lewis, Alistair Welsh, Dave Takle and Phil Richardson all passing 25. Richard Gibbins was 20 not out as Tipton were restricted to 79-4, Lewis taking 2-16.

?Clyst Hydon II could make only half of Exmouth’s 117-4, with George Greenaway taking 2-9, James Tapper 1-5 and Matt Tarry 1-8 to dismiss them for 58. Julian Page made 34 not out for Exmouth, Tapper made 29 and Peter Hall 26 not out.

?Clyst Hydon piled up 163-3 against Newton Poppleford who finished 60 runs short despite the efforts of Tom Clay and Matthew Raistrick who were not out 30 and 25, respectively.

Clyst Hydon’s runs came from Peter Milner, Chris Holmes and Lewis Morgan who were unbeaten on 33, 28 and 25, respectively, Ian Sutton, run out for 25, and Simon Holmes, caught for 22.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus