Sidmouth climb to second with Dartmoor League victory

Sidmouth v Honiton in the Dartmoor League

Sidmouth v Honiton in the Dartmoor League - Credit: Sidmouth GC

Sidmouth played their latest Dartmoor League match against Honiton on Sunday and with the sun shining, the scene was set for an exciting local derby. 

First out were Anthony Griffiths and Tiku Patidar, who continued their ongoing success, beating top Honiton pair Ross Latchem and Dexter Vittles 4/3. Next out were Sidmouth and Honiton Captain’s Steve Milton and Stewart Slater and their respective partners Graham Davies and John Tierney.  

Sidmouth were 3 up after 10 holes but with Stewart using his shots well and John's birdie on 13, the match was soon back to all square. Sidmouth regained the lead on 17 but another 20ft birdie putt holed by John on the 18th halved the match.  

There were further halved matches for Terry Jones/Neil Faulkner vs Spencer Macklin/Mark Witcombe and Moray Bosence/Arron Taylor vs Paul Borkowski/Julian Phillips, leaving the match to be decided by the last group out.  

Sidmouth pair Ben Hodgson/Sandy Hughes again played well to extend their unbeaten run by beating Ed Reece and Dan Meek 4/3, giving an overall match result Sidmouth 3.5 Honiton 1.5.  

This is only Sidmouth's second season in the Dartmoor League but the result against Honiton puts them second in the Division 2 table behind Exeter. The next match is away at Tavistock.  

Sidmouth Seniors played host to Wrangaton in the first leg of their friendly matches and Captain for the day, Brian Rice, and his partner Stephen Dymond got off to a great start. 

Most Read

They were 3 up after 5 holes, with Stephen playing especially well, and 6 up at the turn. Their opponents rallied a little on the back nine but the Sidmouth pair held on to win 4 and 3. 

Phil Spencer and Keith James had a much tighter match and after being 3 up, they just managed to hold on, winning 1 up at the end. Mike Davis and Rob Reed had a tough start being 2 down after 9 but recovered really well to win 2 up. Another close match followed Steve Nunn and David Bromage before they ended up winning on the 17th. 

The penultimate pair of Bob Johnston and Bernie Millward won comfortably, 6 and 4 on the 14th. The final pair of Bill Hayes and Vernon Ruffle had a slow start and were 2 down after 3 holes but recovered to eventually triumph 3 and. 

This gave Sidmouth a 6-0 win, meaning they only need one pair to get a half in the return in September for an overall win.  

In the Wednesday roll-up, Pat McCormack won the Peter Grant Bailey Trophy with an excellent 41 points and received the trophy from Peter Emery. 

The Upper Crust Monday Stableford Division 1 was won last week by David Pepperell on 41 points, Moray Bosence took second with 39 and Martin Harris 37 was third. In Division 2, Neil Hodge took the honours with a solid 43 ahead of John Bainbridge 40 and Archie Griffiths on 39.  

The winners of Division 1 this week were Dan Colson on 42 in first, with Jonathan Lee 37 and Terry Jones 36 taking the minor places. In Division 2, Dave Atkinson won with 41, ahead of Mike Dibble and Ray Gunston.  

In the Seniors Stableford, Steve Dymond won with an excellent 43 ahead of our oldest playing member Rob Owen at 89, who posted a brilliant 42 ahead of Dave Atkinson and Glyn Hewitt. 

In the Digger Cup on Saturday, played as a bogey competition, John Dunn won the cup and the top prizemoney with a superb score of plus 5. Close behind on the same score of plus 4 were Archie Griffiths - not letting his new lower handicap get in the way of a good score - and George Barber. 

The weather was kind and a good field of ladies entered the County Stableford competition. Anne Willoughby came in first with a great score of 45 points, followed by Marie Timms with 40 and Penny Lyne with 39.