Sidmouth under-10s B team triumph

PUBLISHED: 12:15 15 August 2010

The successful under-10s B team.

The successful under-10s B team.


SIDMOUTH U10s B defeated hosts Alphington by 10 runs in the final of the Alphington Softball Festival.

Teams from Culmstock, Alphington, Budleigh Salterton Witheridge and Kentisbeare in addition to Sidmouth took part in the festival.

Sponsors were Ivor Doble Jewellers, Western Event Hire, Hartnells Butchers, CTC Wholesalers, Bestway Cash and ‘n’ Carry. Island Sports donated a bat for the best player award.

Alphington A topped Group A with a maximum of nine points. Sidmouth B were second. Budleigh won Group B with Kentisbeare the runners up.

Alphington beat Kentisbeare by 20 runs to reach the final, where Sidmouth B were waiting after defeating Budleigh by 8 runs.

Sidmouth A lost in the semi-finals of the Plate competition to Witheridge, who went on to defeat Culmstock in the final.

Each team had a player of the tournament. Sidmouth were Toby Neumegen for the A team and Oliver Pugsley in the B team.

The Sidmouth teams were:

Sidmouth A: Max Mayor, Joshua Hague, Alexander Mitchell, Finlay Richards, Sam Burhop, Jack Cload, Toby Neumegen, Harley Symonds, Daniel Mayor.

Sidmouth B: Jasper Fitzhenry, Jordan Fowler, Max Hancock, Louis Spalding, Cole Monaghan, Hugo Powell-Jones, Elliot Wright, Oliver Pugsley.

Organiser Stuart Shaw said: “Everyone who came to watch the festival was given a great day of U10s soft ball cricket and this will now be run as a annual event.”

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Sidmouth Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald