Swimming 'Oscars' a great success

PUBLISHED: 09:00 30 January 2009 | UPDATED: 12:23 17 June 2010

Glamour and sophistication came to Sidmouth on Saturday night as families dressed up for an Oscars -themed Sid Vale Swimming Club Presentation Night, writes Rebecca Colwill.

Glamour and sophistication came to Sidmouth on Saturday night as families dressed up for an 'Oscars'-themed Sid Vale Swimming Club Presentation Night, writes Rebecca Colwill. Despite the stormy weather, everyone dressed to the nines to walk down the red carpet into the St John Ambulance Hall to celebrate the end of a very successful year which included particularly strong swims against other local clubs to win the Bradford Cup and increasingly positive swims in the National Western Swimming League (Speedo).Gina Wassall, head coach, welcomed everyone and was keen to draw attention to the continued effort and commitment of the swimmers, especially the growing talents of Jack Faulkner and Christian Goddard, and to praise the dedication of Ellie Cawthera and Julia Walkden who have taken their first steps in training and coaching. They are all a credit to the club.The welcome was followed by the presentation of the championship medals. Shaun Tipton, the MC for the evening, did a fantastic job and medals were presented by Gina Wassall, ably assisted by the out-going club captain Amy Dormand and coach Carol Goddard.WinnersUnder-9s: Abigail Pearce, Charlotte Reid, Maisie Faulkner, Megan Cox, Tom Woodruff;Under 10s: Rachel Cavin, Victoria Wyant, Chloe Towers, Olivia Hall, Abigail Pyne, Jonathon Surtees, Sam Tipton, Matthew Domhof;Under 10 Spring Cup winners: Jonathon Surtees, Rachel Cavin;Under 11s: Hope Hamilton, Molly McAndrew, Michael Overton, Zachary Hawes, James Pitt;Under-11 Spring Cup winner: Molly McAndrew.Under 12s: Emily Woodruff, Phillipa Wyant, Sasha Colwill, Joe Cox, Sam Cavin, Mark Pearce, Malachi Rayner-Philipson; Under 12 Spring Cup winners: Phillipa Wyant, Sam Cavin.Under 13s: Cathryn Surtees, Erika Towers, Hannah Domhof, Daisy Keen, Abbi Lee, George Plant, Morgan Rainer-Philipson, Aaron Webber, Christian Goddard, Jack Faulkner, Daniel Dixon;Under-13 Spring Cup winners: Jack Faulkner, Hannah DomhofUnder 14s: Katie Tipton, Alfie Keen, India Hawes;Under 15s: Emily Hall, Tanya Marriott, Annie Parr, Annabel Overton, Robert Walkden, Tom Palmer, Fin Cawthera;Under 15 Spring Cup winner: Tom Palmer;Open:Julia Walkden, Bethany Faulkner, Ellie Cawthera, Amy Dormand, Sophie Keast.Open Spring Cup: Julia Walkden.Distance Winners100m: Tom Palmer, Jack Faulkner, Bethany Faulkner, Julia Walkden, Sophie Keast, Aaron Webber, Chris Goddard, Amy Dormand, Robert Walkden, Emily Hall, Tanya Marriott, Ellie Cawthera200m Girls: 1, Julia Walkden; 2, Emily Hall; 3, Phillipa Wyant. 200m Boys: 1, Chris Goddard; 2, Jack Faulkner; 3, Sam Cavin. 400m: 1, Julia Walkden; 2, Chris Goddard; 3, Jack Faulkner. 800m: 1, Chris Goddard; 2, Cathryn Surtees; 3, Katie Tipton. 1500m: 1, Hebe Goddard; 2, Chris Goddard; 3, Bethany Faulkner.Special Awards: Most Improved Junior boy/girl: Aaron Webber/Sasha Colwill; Special Effort boy/girl:Alfie Keen/Katie TiptonCoaches' Cup: Amy Dormand; Peter Bradnam Cup for Training: Hebe Goddard; Services to the club: Gail Bradnam; New club captain boy/girl: Fin Cawthera/Julia Walkden; New club vice-captain boy/girl: Tom Palmer/Bethany Faulkner.All the swimmers show a great deal of commitment and determination to achieve these awards and they are richly deserved. Throughout the year, personal changes, attitude and fitness levels can have a significant effect on performance in the pool and the successful swimmers are those who persevere during difficult times and do not allow themselves to become discouraged. It should be remembered that behind every successful club is a group of volunteers and supporters who give up their time and money to ensure the smooth running and continued flourishing of the club. These range from dedicated committee members, Waitrose, with financial sponsorship, and other local businesses for donation of raffle prizes. All these people are recognised on evenings like this and the swimmers showed their appreciation for their support.As Shaun Tipton, the MC, hung up his microphone for the evening, club chairman Don Cawthera thanked Gina for her fantastic job over the past year.The club is extremely lucky to have her dedication and expertise and everyone showed their huge appreciation. She was ably supported by a team of poolside volunteers as well as the club committee. Derek Walkden and Gail Bradnam bowed out after many years on the committee, carrying out essential jobs and supporting the club through many difficult times. Derek not only organised essential fundraising events but also stepped in as head coach for a while. Gail was the Club Welfare Officer as well as carrying out numerous other responsibilities to ensure the continued success.New committee members Helen Baker, Rebecca Colwill and Denise Overton.Gina Wassall thanked Jeremy Wassall for his training and coaching efforts, Simon Towers and Patrick Domhof for their excellent coaching and support and especially Carol Goddard for being Gina's 'right-hand woman'. The evening was finished off with an excellent chilli cooked by club chairman Don Cawthera and his wife Beverley, musical entertainment from the talented new club captain Fin Cawthera, followed by a greatly enjoyed disco. The atmosphere throughout the night was full of positive achievement, excitement and good cheer.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Sidmouth Herald. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Sidmouth Herald